Snapchat screenshot

Can Someone See If You Screenshot a Snapchat Story?

Have you ever wanted to save someone’s Snapchat story and wondered whether the person who posted it would find out? If you are talking about “can someone see if you screenshot their story the answer is yes. Snapchat shows the story owner that a screenshot has been taken. There is a feature called the Snapchat indicator that tells the user that a screenshot has been taken.

Can Someone See If You Screenshot a Snapchat Story?

Yes, a story owner can see or know if you screenshot their story. There is a screenshot indicator in Snapchat that notifies the owner when a screenshot is taken. However, it doesn’t directly inform the owner through a notification. 

How does the screenshot indicator work?

If you want to know whether someone has taken a screenshot of your own story, you can check the story viewer information.

Follow these steps to check who screenshotted your story.

  1. Open Snapchat and tap on your profile icon.
  2. In the second step, find My Story and open the story that you posted.
  3. Swipe up to see story views, like how many have viewed your story. 
  4. Look for screen shot indiacter option in viewing activity.
  5. There, you will see who screenshotted your story.

Does Snapchat Notify Someone When You Screenshot Their Story?

Snapchat cannot notify or indicate screenshot activity. It notifies the user that a screenshot of a story has been taken. Notification doesn’t mean that you will always get a pop-up notification about your story screenshot; you will know through story viewer details when you click on your story and swipe up.  So taking a screenshot of someone else’s story is not fully private at all.  

What About Public Snapchat Stories?

As public stories are available to a wider audience, there are other people who can see them, so creators should be aware that their stories or content are within reach of everyone. If you screenshot a public story, don’t assume that screenshot will be invisible to the creator. 

What About Screen Recording?

Screen recording is somewhat of a safe option if you use a built-in screen recorder or third-party screen recorder; you can save or capture someone’s story without letting them know, but the behaviour can depend on the type of contant, device you used. So anything you shared on Snapchat could potentially be captured who can view it. 

Can You Prevent Someone From Taking a Screenshot of Your Story? 

There is no solid solution to prevent someone from capturing content once they can view it. How ever, you can get access your story; follow these steps.

  1. Open Snapchat and go to your profile.
  2. Tap the settings icon
  3. Find your story privacy setting.
  4. Choose the audience you are comfortable sharing your story with.

What About Screen Recording?

Screen recording is somewhat of a safe option if you use a built-in screen recorder or third-party screen recorder; you can save or capture someone’s story without letting them know, but the behaviour can depend on the type of contant, device you used. So anything you shared on Snapchat could potentially be captured who can view it. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, Snapchat shows the story owner who has screenshot their story through the Story Indicator feature.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *